Past Events

2016 was an amazing success! Great talent – Great performances – Great audience!

In response to the challenge of such great performances from some of our newcomers, everyone stepped up their game. The result was a world class show that surprised audiences every night! Award winners this year deserve a bit of extra credit for surpassing an outstanding lineup of music artists.

2016 Award Recipients:

Entertainer of the Year:
Country Strike (Croatia) 2nd consecutive year!

Female Vocalist of the Year (2-way tie):
Denise Carstens (South Africa)
Kylie Ann Price (New Zealand)

Male Vocalist of the Year:
Rob Mans (Canada)

Duo of the Year:
Heidi Gabrielle and ” Mr Fox” Gino (Belgium & Netherlands) 2nd consecutive year!

Group of the Year:
The Sugarmoons (Texas)

Instrumentalist of the Year:
Sarah Griffin Humphries (Texas)

Rising Star of the Year:
Denise Carstens (South Africa)

Songwriter of the Year:
Natasja Lee Dickinson (Denmark) 2015’s Acoustic artist of the year!

Acoustical Artist of the Year:
Kylie Ann Price (New Zealand)

Personality of the Year:
Denise Carstens (South Africa)

Texas Heritage Award:
David Smith & Double Nickel Band (Texas)

Local Legend Award:
Daniel Foster & the Boones (Texas)

Music Legacy Award:
Eugenia Roberts Hamilton (Texas)

Peoples’ Choice Award:
The Sugarmoons (Texas)

Producer’s Choice:
058 Band (Croatia)




2015 Texas Sounds launched the new Diamond Don Event Center with great performances!

The talent pool was extraordinary! The performances were world-class! Top musicians came from around the world!

Award Recipients:

Entertainer of the Year – Country Strike, Croatia
Female Vocalist of the Year – Jillian Kohr, Nashville
Male Vocalist of the Year – Craig Adams, New Zealand
Group or Duo of the Year – Heidi Gabrielle and Mr Fox Gino, Belgium and Netherlands
Producer’s Choice Award – Emmylou and Rafael Espinoza, Texas
Diamond Don Personality of the Year – Country Strike, Croatia
David Doriot Guitarist of the Year – Rafael Espinoza, Texas
Rich Lundgren Legacy Award – Loveflowers, Sweden
Huey Smith Local’s Choice Award – Ramer Gentry Duo, Louisiana
Rising Star Award – Jen and Rio, Texas
“Boss” Moss Songwriter of the Year – Connecting Stars, South Africa
Outstanding Acoustic Artist Award – Natasja Lee Dickinson, Denmark
Richard Bowden Local Legend Award – Lane Rodgers, Louisiana
James Novey Texas Country Music Heritage Award – Sarah Lucy Dole, England
James Novey Texas Heritage Award – Carbayo – Long Look Ride, Spain
(Two James Novey awards issued – tied vote)



The 2014 Texas Sounds International Country Music Awards was an amazing success!

This event brought country music bands and solo artists from eight nations here to Jefferson, Texas, to perform and compete for awards and titles in this worldwide country music competition
(Dates for upcoming 2015 Texas Sounds, July 30 through August 9.)

Official Results of 2014 Texas Sounds International Country Music Awards

Country music artists from around the world competed over an 18-day span for awards and titles in the 2014 Texas Sounds International Country Music Awards.

Congratulations to Karen Lee Batten of Canada who took top honors as 2014 Country Music Entertainer of the Year!

and to all the award winners:

Best Female Performer, Britta T, Switzerland
Best Male Performer, InBlauk, Spain
Best Songwriters, Loveflowers, Sweden
Local’s Choice, Lane Rodgers, Arkansas
Rising Star, Jaden Farnsworth, Texas
The Diamond Don Award – Entertainer of the Year, Sarah Lucy Dole – Starlane, England
The John Early Award – Guitar King, Rafael Espinoza, Texas
The Richard Bowden Award – Local Legend, Daniel Foster, Texas
The James Novey Award – Travelin’ Texans, The Laurie Lace Band
The Preston Taylor Award – Producer’s Choice, East Texas Band, Australia

Texas Sounds is produced by
East Texas Performing Arts, Inc.
a 501c3 nonprofit corporation.